Outcast 1.1 Released

Longtime readers of this blog will know that I am a huge fan of Outcast. It was the subject of one of my earliest History Lessons posts, and when the original developers started a Kickstarter campaign to create an HD remake of the game, I posted about it with excitement. Sadly, that campaign did not succeed, but they didn’t give up on the game. In the meantime they’ve been quietly working on an updated version of the original game, adding support for multi-threading, resolutions up to 1920×1080, and native gamepad support. This updated version has just released on Steam (the first time the game has ever been available there) and GOG (as a free update).

Naturally, I am excited once more. The high resolution support and gamepad controls will make it a lot easier for new players to get into the game, and being on Steam means it can reach the largest potential market. And with more players learning about this fantastic game, there’s a better chance that the HD remake, or even a sequel, will appear someday. In fact, I’m so excited that I’m inclined to play it again. When I wrote that History Lessons post on Outcast, I was writing from memory, after I’d finished the game, so being able to write about it as I play will be cool. Of course, I’m in the middle of a few games at the moment, so it wouldn’t happen for a little bit, but I still may do it.

I should point out that as I haven’t tried the new 1.1 version yet, I can’t speak to how well it runs. There are reports of some issues, but it seems the developers are putting out fixes pretty quickly. Given that this still uses the original voxel engine for the game, it’s likely that it can’t utilize modern graphics cards and instead relies on the processor, which may mean that performance is not be as high as expected. Still, I’d imagine this is the best time to try the game if you are at all interested. And you should be.

Here’s a shot of one of Outcast’s excellent explosions:

You’ll enjoy your visit to Adelpha, trust me.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

